FANDOM


The-handmaids-tale-wiki-welcome

Welcome to the community-run wiki for fans of The Handmaid's Tale, Margaret Atwood's best-selling novel and Hulu's drama series The Handmaid's Tale (TV series), based on the novel.

The-handmaids-tale-characters
What-handmaids-tale-about
The-handmaids-tale-book

The Handmaid's Tale is a dystopian/speculative fiction novel by Margaret Atwood, first published in 1985.

The novel revolves around a woman named Offred, and her struggle to survive in a totalitarian theocracy known as the Republic of Gilead, which has replaced the United States of America, and explores themes such as religious fundamentalism, political censorship and oppression, sexism and gender roles, and more.

The-handmaids-tale-poster

The Handmaid's Tale is a 10-episode dystopian drama series on Hulu.

Starring Elisabeth Moss, Samira Wiley, Joseph Fiennes, and Alexis Bledel, The Handmaid's Tale's dystopian narrative sets itself in the fictional Republic of Gilead, an authoritarian theocracy which comes to power in the United States of America.

Based on the novel by Margaret Atwood, The Handmaid’s Tale follows handmaid Offred (played by Moss), who is forced into subjugation in an attempt to repopulate the fictional, male-dominated society of Gilead.

The-handmaids-tale-video-gallery
The Handmaid’s Tale Season 2 First Look (Official) • Only on Hulu

The Handmaid’s Tale Season 2 First Look (Official) • Only on Hulu


Latest Discussions

Loading Discussions...

The-handmaids-tale-poster

The Handmaid's Tale Wiki is a collaborative encyclopaedia about the novel and Hulu drama series that anyone can edit. We are currently editing over 156 articles, and 163 files, and you can help!


Help Terms of Use Wanted Pages Categories
Handmaids-novel

The-handmaids-tale-novel-margaret-atwood

Handmaids-twitter

Handmaids-facebook
Stranger Things


GeneralLitFooter
General Literature

Go to these sites for info or for help with your own wiki!

BourneFifty Shades of GreyThe GiverThe Handmaid's TaleIn DeathJames BondJurassic Park UniverseThe Last KingdomLes MisérablesLittle Britches SeriesOutlanderSherlock Holmes

Want your community included? See how!

Literature Wordmark

TelevisionDramaFooter
Drama Shows

Go to these sites for info or for help with your own wiki!

24A Million Little ThingsThe AmericansBreaking Bad / Better Call SaulBrooksideCasualtyChicago FireChicago MedChicago FranchiseClawsCode BlackCoronation StreetDeath in ParadiseDesperate HousewivesDownton AbbeyEmmerdaleEmpireERFor the PeopleThe Good WifeGrand HotelGrey's Anatomy, Private Practice, Station 19The HeiressesHollyoaksHouseHow to Get Away with MurderThe Last ShipLOSTThe MentalistNashvilleParenthoodThe ResidentRoswell, New MexicoScandalSEAL TeamSirenSix Feet UnderTappedVikingsThe West Wing

Want your community included? See how!

TelevisionLogo